Yea though I fall down the stairs…

I like to think of myself as a positive person, and as a Christian I have the ultimate reason to have joy in any circumstance.  But in reality, there are days – or, more accurately, there are moments in every day – when finding joy in a situation eludes me.   Those moments are the ones where my human nature takes over.   Flat tires, disobedient children and slow drivers when I’m in a hurry are just a few of the things that do this to me.

I know women who have more children than me or less helpful spouses or just downright more problems than me who can find joy in changing a dirty diaper, losing their job or their house burning down.  I want to be like that, to be able to praise God no matter what my circumstances.  So, I’ve been praying that God would give me joy in all the little problems that I encounter daily.  And God answered me with the same answer He usually sends me: I’ve already done my part.  Now you do yours.

God showed me that I need to be intentional about my praise to have that joy that I’ve been searching for in the hard moments of life.  When I praise Him even in the bad things in my life I get not only joy, but a new perspective which improves my attitude.

For instance, today I fell down the stairs carrying my two-year-old daughter.  I was sitting at the bottom of the stairs bruised, carpet-burned and seeing double from hitting my head while she screamed bloody murder and sprouted full-on waterworks even though not so much as one skin cell of hers touched the stairs during the fall.  But as I thought about that incident later, I praised God for protecting us both from serious injury.

I wonder how many times in my life I sit at the bottom of the stairs and cry while Jesus gets up and comforts me as He silently bears the injuries that He protected me from?

It’s all in your perspective.  So, I’m choosing to have a new perspective of life.  I choose to praise God in the good things.  I choose to praise God in the moments in my life that I perceive as bad.  I choose to praise God for who He is no matter what is happening in my life.  And I choose to praise Him for all the things He has done for me.  And that should be enough, shouldn’t it?  Hasn’t He already done enough for us to praise Him every day, even if He never sent another blessing our way?

 

 

  1. #1 by Christina on May 5, 2012 - 10:40 pm

    Thank you girl. Love your heart.

Leave a Reply

