Finding God’s Will

I know what you’re thinking: Another blog post…what did her two-year-old do now?  A lot, actually.  But nothing that I’m going to talk about in today’s blog post.

Today, I want to talk about God’s will for our lives.  I have spent the better part of the last seven years wondering what God wanted to do in my life.  Since my husband and I met, there has never been a doubt in my mind that God made us for each other.  I’ve never wondered if I did the right thing by marrying him, and I’ve never questioned if my husband was God’s will for my life.  There is no question.    I have also never doubted that God sent both of my beautiful children to me.

However, there is one area of my life where I have done nothing but question God’s will: my professional life.  In the past seven years I’ve had two jobs outside the home, each lasted less than a year.  During all of that time I prayed that God would keep me in His will for my life in every possible way.  And there were several times when I thought, “This is it.” Job opportunities have come and gone and taken with them their fair share of my tears and frustration.  I have always felt that God was preparing me for something, but I never knew what.

This is the part of the blog post where, if I was a motivational speaker or life coach, I would give you the but-now-I-have-the-answer paragraph.  Unfortunately, I’m just a regular person and I don’t have the answer yet.  What I do have is the promise that God is working in my life.

It has taken years of ups and downs, but I have finally accepted that I may never know what God has planned for my future.  He will probably never give me a road map that shows exactly where I’m going.  And it may not be until I’m old and frail and look back on my life that I see the purpose God made me for.  Who knows, even then I may not be able to see it.

Truth be told, it is probably better that He doesn’t give me all the details.  I would probably still try to do it my way and get things messed up.  With His way I can only see enough to put one foot in front of the other and yet I end up right where I’m supposed to be.  Even though I may not know where that is.

What I do know is that God loves me and is holding me in the palm of his hand.  As long as I seek His face daily and stay in His will for my life today, I will end up where He wants me to be.  Instead of focusing on my career or what my future holds, I can cling to the things that I know God wants from me: fellowship with Him and other believers, living out my faith so that  others can see Him in me, raising my children to have hearts for Him and being a woman who mirrors the truths spelled out in His word.   That is God’s will for all our lives.

So, even if I never know His plan for my life, I trust that He has one.

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

