When Jesus is Far Away…Who Moved?

It has been a while since I’ve written a blog post.  My excuse to myself for this has been that I haven’t had any worthy material.  I think God must have gotten tired of that excuse from me and He has started throwing content at me.  One such occasion happened after several days of writer’s block (or I told myself that was what I had – what I really had was a case of letting Satan convince me that I could do this on my own).

Anyway, after going a few days without any new ideas for blog posts, I started praying that God would show me what He wanted me to write about.  I know.  I know.  Crazy idea – praying!  Sometimes it is the basics that we forget.

Avy has several books about Jesus, her Bible and all kinds of Bible story books.  But there is one particular book, a Christmas story book, that she likes to “read” as she sings “Jesus Loves Me.”  She associates it with Jesus more than the other books, even calling it “Jesus”.  So, not an hour after I spent time praying that God would send me content, Avy woke up from her nap with that book on her mind.  She was walking around our living room wearing only a diaper, hair sticking in every possible direction, yelling, “Jesus…are you?”  She spent several minutes like this, going through every book that we own, until she finally found the one she was looking for.  Where was it, you ask?  It was on the shelf right where she left it.

Yes, Lord, I hear you.

How often do I walk through life thinking, “Jesus, where are you?”  I even search for Him, looking everywhere I can think of – in devotionals, in hymnals, and even in crazy places like prayer.  But the problem is, that isn’t where Jesus is.  Sure, those are all places that I can grow my relationship with Him, ways that I enrich my walk with Him.  But Jesus isn’t in those things.  He is right where I left Him – in my heart.  No matter how many things I have put in front of Him, He hasn’t moved.  And on those days when I find it particularly hard to clear away the clutter that is hiding Him, I can take out God’s word, and it will light the path to Jesus in my heart.

Jesus never moves.  He came to earth to die for our sins once and for all.  He has done all the moving He ever needs to do.  So, when I find myself far from Him, or I think I can’t find Him, I need to remember it isn’t Him who has moved. 

The good news is that no matter how far away I move from him or how much I put in front of Him, I always know how to get back to Him.  He is with me even in the moments when I don’t act very much like it.  He is standing beside me even when I am ashamed to call myself His child.  He is always there.  He will never leave me or forsake me.  Nothing that I ever do will drive Him away from me. 

Thank you, Lord, for always being there when I need you.  Thank you for not moving away from me even when I am unworthy of You.  I love You, Lord.  Please help me to always remember that you are with me, and to act in a way that makes you proud to call me Your child.

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

