Faith and Faithfulness

Yesterday I sat in Sunday School listening to our lesson about faith.  It gave me a warm, fuzzy feeling just thinking about it.  Faith is such a vital part of being a Christian.  Not just faith that brings us to Christ, but faith that keeps us in our daily walk with Him.  Hebrews 11: 1-3 has this to say about faith: “Now faith is being sure of what we hope for and certain of what we do not see.  This is what the ancients were commended for.  By faith we understand that the universe was formed at God’s command, so that what is seen was not made out of what was visible.”

That is such a beautiful picture of our God and our beliefs.  We don’t have to know everything.  We don’t have to understand how every facet of the universe works.  It is enough to know that God does.  I am so glad that my God knows everything.  No, really – EVERYTHING!  Wow!  I don’t have to be the smartest, wisest, most holy.  I don’t have to be perfect.  I don’t have to be anything in and of myself.   In fact, I can’t be anything in my own strength.  For me that is an incredibly comforting thought.

I am one of those people who tries to do it all.  I have a hard time saying “no” to people and commitments even when they do nothing but make my life harder.  That is why I find so much comfort in knowing that no matter what I do I can’t be enough by myself.  Okay, so maybe that doesn’t sound like something to get so excited about.  Let me put it this way, I don’t have to be enough by myself.   I think I breathed a sigh of relief just typing that.

My God knows all of my needs, all of the things I will do in my life, and He has provided a way for me to accomplish His will through me.  That is all I need to know.  As long as I cling to that, everything else will fall into place.

Now, as I listened to the comforting message about faith, I was struck with another realization.  Faith is trusting that God is working for the best in our lives.  That doesn’t always mean that we get what we expect out of life.  Faith is not about believing that God will work our lives out exactly the way we hope they will go.  Faith is about knowing that God is working through us toward His purpose in all things, whether we understand why or not.  That is where faithfulness comes into play.

Faith is a choice that is based on what we feel, what we know, regardless of what we see.  Faith is hoping.  Faithfulness is obeying even when our faith is weak.  And God calls us to both – faith in Him, and faithfulness to Him.  Faith brings us comfort in knowing that our God is bigger than all our circumstances.  Faithfulness brings us joy that only comes from persevering through the toughest times.

Both are beautiful, wonderful gifts from God.  Please, Lord Jesus, help me to always have faith in You in all circumstances and give me the strength to be faithful to You throughout all the days of my life.

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

