Come to the Water

I walked into the dimly lit sanctuary last Tuesday night taking in the crowd, the band, the atmosphere.  The room was filled from front to back with college students.  The air was pulsing with excitement and worship.  I had entered The Well on its first night back from summer.  And He was there.  In every song, every smile, every hand that was raised.  He was there. 

The music stopped and our college pastor, Allen Tate, stood up to speak.  During the next thirty minutes, he challenged us to step out of the complacency of our spiritual wading pool and dive head first into the deep-end of God’s will for our lives. 

If you are anything like me, you love a good action movie.  The kind with good guys who, against all odds, always come out on top and main characters who are always looking towards the greater good.  The kind that leaves your heart pounding, your spirit stirring, and a war cry in your throat.  The kind where the world is saved, honor is maintained, and characters are changed for the better.  After years of observing this genre of film and the hype that is attached, I have come to a conclusion about humanity.  We all desire to be a part of something bigger than ourselves.  We all want to know that the world is a better place because we did something worthwhile.  We all have these great ambitions, yet most of us stop short.  Changing the world sounds great in theory, but in reality, it is hard.  It is tedious, uncomfortable, and challenging in every respect.  It requires sweat and blood.  It demands sacrifice.  And from the starting line, it is a scary view. 

However, Allen’s point was that it’s worth it.  Wanting to be a part of something difficult is not a sign of a need to hit the self-destruct button.  It is a mark that tells us we were created by Someone greater, intended for a purpose bigger than anything we could ever imagine.  It is a desire for Him. 

When the music stopped and the lights came up, my heart was pounding, my spirit was stirring and a war cry was on the tip of my tongue.  I have decided I want to be a part of something bigger, something greater.  I have decided spiritual complacency just won’t cut it for me. He has saved me, He has changed me, and I cannot help but follow Him wherever He leads. 

I have decided to follow Jesus.  No turning back.

To be one of 245 college students worshipping a Savior worth following is an experience I can never fully describe.  No words can do it justice.  So instead of counting on me to give an adequate description, come and join us tonight at The Well at Highland Baptist Church, 7:30 p.m.  Come be filled with the Living Water and satisfy that thirst for something greater. 

“Father, make of me a crisis man.  Bring those I contact to decision.  Let me not be a milepost on a single road; make me a fork, that men must turn one way or another on facing Christ in me.”

 –Jim Elliot

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

