My Down Time

There comes a time in every day when we have exhausted all possible play options, all distractions have become blasé and I reach the end of the number of requests I can take in one day.  This point in our house generally seems to merge with the lost hour before my husband gets home from work and we get the kids fed and then in bed.  So, imagine sleepy, restless, bored toddlers.  My solution for this time of day is almost always a light snack and TV time.  They get to choose, which usually means Barney or The Lion King.  It doesn’t matter to me what we watch, because I usually sit on the couch with my phone and check my email or browse Facebook.

A couple of weeks ago it was getting to be that time of day when my two-year-old, Avy, came to me with my phone in hand and said, “Watch Barney?”

If you have ever read any of my other blog posts you know that she is my little walking, talking manifestation of the Holy Spirit in my life.  It was no different on that day as I was convicted that my sweet baby girls see me as the mom who passes out on the couch with my phone the minute I have some free time.  And it made me think: what do I want my children to see me do when I have spare time?

Instead of picking up my phone with every available opportunity, I started reading my Bible and praying.  I have a daily quiet time, but it is while my girls are sleeping and they rarely saw me with my Bible or praying before a couple of weeks ago.  Avy was ok with the Bible reading but the praying threw her off a bit.  When I pray with Avy we bow our heads and put our hands together, but during my own personal prayer time I usually pray with my head down either face down on the couch or even the floor.  So, for the first couple of days she would spend that time trying to wake me up until I explained to her that I was praying.

Then after a few days, she started to expect it.  She would bring me my Bible for Barney time.  Then, one of the happiest moments of my life happened just the other day when Avy came to me and said, “Mommy, let’s pray.”

Sometimes we get caught up with doing things the way that they benefit us the most without thinking about how they will affect others.  But it isn’t just about us.  Our children, our families, our friends and even those people who don’t know us all need to see God in us.  They need to see our faithfulness to Him. 

For all of their lives, I want my children to be able to visualize me reading my Bible and praying.  I want them to think of me not only as a follower of God, but also as an example of what a daily walk with Him looks like.  I never really thought about it before.  I have a strong, personal relationship with my Heavenly Father.  My family, friends and even acquaintances know that for the most part.  Even my daughter’s know that, but seeing it is a different story.

Is there someone in your life that needs to see your commitment to God?

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

